About HMU


About School 

Hainan Medical University (HMU), under the auspices of the Hainan Provincial Government, was founded in 1993 with the approval of the Chinese State Education Commission. The history of the university began with the integration of two medical schools, the privately-owned Haiqiang Medical Vocational School (founded in 1947) and the privately-owned Medical College of Hainan University (founded in 1948).

Faculty & Staff 

Hainan Medical University has three campuses with 139 hectares of land, located on Chengxi Road, Longhua Avenue and West Coast . Presently on staff there are 2299 doctors, faculty or research staff members, among whom are 157 professors and 317 associate professors.


The University now offers 27 specialties (including major orientation) in three different medical disciplines to undergraduates, including medicine, science and management and 21 specialties (including major orientation) for students in the three-year vocational program. 

Schools and departments

The university hosts 15 Schools and departments,e.g. School of Clinical Medicine, School of Vocational Education and School of International Education etc. 

There are 83 departments, 11 teaching laboratories and 8 research laboratories. There are 6 provincial key disciplines, 4 provincial key laboratories, 15 provincial-level quality courses, and 3 provincial key courses. There is one hospital directly affiliated with HMU, and three hospitals indirectly affiliated. 


About 80 teaching and internship bases offer their service to HMU. To date, HMU has enrolled over 12,000 Chinese students and more than 100 international students.