Brief Introduction to NCU


Nanchang University (NCU) is a national university situated in central China in Jiangxi province in the Provincial capital of Nanchang which is south of the Yangtze River. Jiangxi is famous as the home of porcelain (china). NCU has it origins way back in 1921 with the beginning of the Jiangxi Public Medical School. It further evolved in 1940 under the National Chung-cheng University and later on Jiangxi University and Jiangxi Industrial University were amalgamated into Nanchang University in 1993, in 2005 the Jiangxi Medical College merged with Nanchang University and so in the 21st century NCU is continuing the tradition of tertiary education which it began way back in 1921. In 1997 NCU was listed as one of the Top Key 100 hundred national universities of the 211 Project, and jointly constructed by the People's government of Jiangxi province and the Ministry of Education of the Chinese central government.

Over the years, the central Government, the Ministry of Education, and the Jiangxi Provincial government have paid great attention to its expansion and further development. Several national leaders such as the former President of China Jiang Zemin, and First secretary and 8th vice President of China Xi Jingping believe that NCU will have 'a promising future' and State councilor Liu Yandong expects NCU to be a world-class university with Chinese characteristics.

NCU consists of five campuses: Qian-Hu Main campus; Qingshan-Hu; Dong-Hu; Poyang-Hu and Fuzhou campus

ts main campus is located at Qian-Hu, Nanchang. It occupies an area of 300 hectares and is the campus where all the undergraduate students, the majority of graduate students, most research institutes and labs and most faculty and staff are based. The other campuses are situated around Jiangxi province.

With a first-class infrastructure and teaching conditions, NCU is the main node of CERNET in Jiangxi Province and the only modeling net university which has been upgraded to IPV6 in all areas and linked to CNGI. NCU has 12 affiliated hospitals of different ranks and categories, among which there are 6 national top tertiary general hospitals and one top tertiary stomatological hospital.

 NCU has a disciplinary system featured by coordinated development of art, science, medicine and engineering. It, currently, runs 99 undergraduate programs covering 12 disciplines, 8 disciplines and 64 sub-disciplines which confer Ph.D. degrees, 45 disciplines which confer master degrees, 5 post-doctoral research stations, 1 professional doctoral program, 15 professional master programs and equivalent master programs for part-time postgraduates. In addition, NCU boasts 1 national key laboratory, 1 national engineering technology research center, 2 national key disciplines, 1 national key discipline under cultivation, 2 key laboratories of Ministry of Education, 2 engineering centers of Ministry of Education, 1 key humanity and social science research base of Ministry of Education, 2 innovation teams of Ministry of Education, 1 national clinical pharmacology base, 1 national clinical specialty, 1 branch of National Stem Cell Engineering Technology Research Center. It boasts 3 state experiment teaching modeling centers, 9 featured specialties, 1 teaching group, 2 quality curriculums, 1 modeling bilingual teaching curriculum, 5 provincial high-standard disciplines and 2 high-standard laboratories, 1 high-standard engineering (technology) research center, 16 provincial key disciplines and 6 modeling master programs of the twelfth five-year plan.