Brief Introduction of China University of Geosciences


 Founded in 1952, China University of Geosciences (CUG) is a key university directly affiliated with the China Ministry of Education (MOE). CUG (Wuhan) campus, as the university’s headquarter, locate besides East Lake, which is a top natural scenic spot in Central China. Through 50 years of hard work, a complete educational system, with multi-channels and multi-levels, has already been formed in CUG (Wuhan), includes programs for bachelors, masters and doctorial degrees. The enrollment totals more than 23,600 students. Among them, Over 400 international students are pursuing their studies at CUG in 2009.

Courses in Geology, Geological resources and Engineering are listed as national first-level key disciplines. CUG is a multi-disciplinary university with Earth science as its key disciplinary field, supporting and illuminating courses in science, engineering, arts, management, economics, law, education and philosophy.

CUG is also a host institution for students awarded Chinese Government Scholarships and has recruited international students since the 1950s. China University of Geosciences (Wuhan) opens its door to the whole society and welcome young friends of the world to the university to study or exchange.