About BTBU

Tiangong University (TGU) is a state-run full-time institution of higher education, which is jointly established by the national Ministry of Education and Tianjin Municipal Government.

The university has a long history with its earliest departments established in 1912.It began to run independently in 1958 as “Hebei Textile and Engineering School”,which was changed to “Tianjin Textile and Engineering School” in 1968. It was not renamed as “Tianjin Polytechnic University” until the year 2000 and then “Tiangong University” in 2019. In 2017, the university has been selected as the national “Double First-Class” world first-class discipline construction university. Now TGU has developed into a multidisciplinary engineering university with coordinated development of engineering, sciences, management, economics, laws and arts.

The campus covers 480 acres with a built-up area over 860 thousand square meters. The university has 20 schools, 52 bachelor programs, 32 master programs, 3 doctoral programs and 3 post-doctoral mobile research station, among which there are 6 state-level characteristic majors, 15 Tianjin brand majors and 2 majors with the Engineering Education Professional Certification.

Tiangong University has more than 1,600 full-time teachers, over 800 teachers with senior professional post. And more than thirty thousand full-time students study in TGU, among whom 24,000 are undergraduates and 4000 are postgraduates.